About those pre-class jitters

It’s the time of year when I start to get emails from nervous incoming AP students. Please trust me when I say that EVERYONE is a little nervous before school begins and even for the first few weeks of class. If that’s you, read on…

I know AP seems daunting and like you’ll never be able to do it or maybe you feel like you’re not “talented” enough (I don’t believe in talent, btw). But, if you don’t try you’ll never know the joy of climbing the mountain that is AP Studio Art.

If you’ve got a lot of other demanding classes or have other obligations please consider staying in AP and just trying it out for the first few weeks, just to see what it’s really like. If, after that time, you still feel like you’re in over your head, I’ll help you drop the class and find a new one or you could just become my AOP so you wouldn’t even have to change classes.

The art work my students create in AP is amazing and is often very intimidating to new students. But remember that you’ll have me, as well as all your classmates, to help you along the way. We really do become like a family because we work so closely and you’ll make some great friends. Also, I should point out that I’ve been doing this for a while and I really will TEACH you a lot. I think art students forget that sometimes and think they have to be able to do it all already. Try not to compare your Chapter 1 to someone else’ Chapter 20. I’ve made a little slide show that shows some of my student’s progress through time and with help & my instruction. Here’s the link: http://www.slideshare.net/CarrieKingWeinstein/pretest-and-final-portraitsI hope it shows you how much better your work will become over time and with help & instruction from me.

It’s a lot, I know, but it IS achievable and I believe that YOU can do it if you put your mind do it and don’t give up. If I didn’t think you had it in you, I would have asked you to drop out last spring.

Leave a Reply

